Asm. Tom Daly Backs Mitch Caldwell in CD3

Assemblyman, former Anaheim Mayor, and former Orange County Clerk-Recorder Tom Daly endorses Caldwell in race for Anaheim’s CD3.

September 5, 2018
Contact: Daniel Fierro - (562) 397-5583 |

Caldwell - Daly Endorsement.jpg

ANAHEIM, CA - Local businessman and longtime neighborhood activist Mitch Caldwell today announced that Assemblyman and former Anaheim Mayor Tom Daly has endorsed Caldwell for the Anaheim City Council in Council District 3. His support is a major boost to Caldwell’s upstart challenge against the incumbent council member, who in only two years has found himself ensnared in political backbiting and bickering.

“Assemblyman Tom Daly has served the City of Anaheim honorably and well as its State Assembly Member, its Mayor, and as the Clerk-Recorder of the County of Orange,” Caldwell said in making the announcement. “More than almost anyone among local elected officials, Assemblyman Daly knows how to make City Hall work for the neighborhoods, and he understands just how critical it is that our Council Members stay focused the fundamentals of good government. I’m honored that he believes I’m the best choice to represent Council District 3 – and it’s a huge boost to me and our volunteers. Tom Daly knows a winner when he sees one, and I intend to prove him right!”

Assemblyman Daly is lifelong Anaheim resident who graduated from Anaheim High School before attending Harvard University. After returning to Anaheim, Assemblyman Daly served as a senior staff member to the 4th District Supervisor on the Orange County Board of Supervisors before representing Council District 3 neighborhoods as an Anaheim Union High School District Trustee, Anaheim City Council Member, Mayor, and Orange County Clerk-Recorder. He currently represents the 69th District, including the City of Anaheim, in the California State Assembly.

Assemblyman Daly joins community leaders and stakeholders from across the ideological spectrum who have endorsed Caldwell for City Council in District 3, including the Anaheim Firefighters Association; the Los Angeles/Orange Counties Building & Construction Trades Council; Congresswoman Loretta Sanchez (ret.); Anaheim City Council Members Steve Faessel, Lucille Kring, and Kris Murray; and Anaheim Elementary School District Trustee D.R. Heywood.

# # #

Daniel FierroComment